Border Crossing Electronic Registration System

In a relevant Department of the European Commission, RIA Novosti was informed that a system of electronic registration should start working in 2022 at border crossings of EU-countries: the passports with Schengen visas will be no longer manually stamped at the entrance and exit.

Currently, citizens of the EU countries, the European Economic Area, Switzerland, the USA, Canada, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand can cross a Schengen border without any participation of people. Passport stamps are only issued to third-country nationals arriving in Schengen countries on a visa.

The innovation is designed to reduce the time it takes to pass border control and to improve its quality by “automatically calculating the permitted stay of each person arriving”, “to ensure systematic and reliable detection of exceeding permitted stay”, as well as to simplify the access of law enforcement agencies to travel information. The decision to implement the Entry-Exit System was agreed by the EU Council in 2017.

№ 5 (48), 2020