Category: Orthodox Crete

Diskouri: like a phoenix from the ashes

In Greece and especially on Crete, April 23 is usually celebrated as the day of St. George the Victorious. Why “usually”? – Because this year the holiday falls on Great Tuesday of Holy Week, which means it will be transferred and celebrated on April 29, right after Easter. Why “especially on Crete”? – Because on […]

Read the article

Monasteries and holy places (continuation)

Christian shrines are the greatest pride and joy of the island. In Crete, Christianity was preached by the Apostle Paul with his disciple Titus in the Ist century. The latter became later the first bishop of the island. That is, the history of Christianity in Crete lasts two millennia. There are here many historical monuments […]

Read the article

Crete – monasteries and holy places

Christian shrines are the greatest pride and joy of the island. In Crete, Christianity was preached by the Apostle Paul with his disciple Titus in the Ist century. The latter became later the first bishop of the island. That is, the history of Christianity in Crete lasts two millennia. There are here many historical monuments […]

Read the article

Crete in May it’s monasteries and holy places

May is very sunny in Crete. The joyful May sun shines over the island almost all the days. In May in Crete there is practically summer weather, but without intense heat, so at this time it is especially pleasant to make excursions around the island. Water in the sea is hardly encouraging to have a […]

Read the article

Easter Celebration in Crete

If you decide to take part in the festivities for Easter, to get acquainted with local traditions and taste the Easter dishes of Greek cuisine, you should know exactly when Easter is celebrated. The only “rule” is that Bright Easter always falls on a Sunday. The main reason for this uniqueness is the decision of […]

Read the article

Crete and Orthodox Christianity

Since the emergence of Christianity in Europe, the island of Crete has tended toward the center of Orthodoxy. A lot of religious monuments are concentrated on the island. Orthodox traditions and daily life of the population are inextricably interconnected. The history of Christianity in Crete has about two millennia. In the I century it was […]

Read the article

From the first years of the formation of Christianity, the island of Crete became the heartstone of orthodoxy

This is evidenced by hundreds of religious monuments scattered throughout the island. Even the most important liberation movements began in monasteries. Consequently, the religious traditions are very strong in all areas of the island, and the daily life of the Cretans is inextricably linked with it. The territory of Crete is its own archbishopric diocese, […]

Read the article

Church of Crete

The Church of Crete is an Apostolic Era Church: the first Christian nucleus was formed here around 64 A.D. by St. Paul, during his 4th missionary journey. Paul assigned to his disciple Titus, who became the first Bishop of Crete, the systematic teaching of Christianity on the island.  Christianity encountered strong resistance from the Nations […]

Read the article

Agios Minas Cathedral

Agios Minas Cathedral is one of the main Churches in the city of Heraklion, is located at the Venizelos square, and is one of the largest in Greece, with a capacity of 8 thousand people. The commemoration day of the saint, on 11 November, is a patronal feast and official holiday. The abode of the […]

Read the article

Shrines in Crete

Crete – mythos and reality… Crete is known as one of the largest centers of religious and cultural life in Greece. Apostle Paul with his disciple Titus, who later became the first bishop of the island, preached Christianity even in the I century. The Cathedral of St. Titus is unique combining different architectural styles. This […]

Read the article

Рубрика: Православный Крит

Дискури: как Феникс из пепла

23 апреля в Греции, а особенно на Крите, обычно отмечают день Святого Георгия Победоносца. Почему «обычно»? Потому что в этом году праздник выпал на Великий вторник Страстной недели, а значит, переносится и будет отмечаться 29 апреля, сразу после Пасхи. Почему «особенно на Крите»? Потому что по статистике самое популярное имя на Крите — Георгиос, Йоргос, […]

Читать статью

Монастыри и святые места (продолжение)

Главная жемчужина острова – христианские святыни. Христианство на Крите проповедовали еще в I веке апостол Павел со своим учеником Титом, который впоследствии стал первым епископом острова. То есть история христианства на Крите насчитывает два тысячелетия. Здесь сохранилось множество исторических памятников, множество христианских святынь разных эпох. Святыни Крита, к сожалению, мало известны в России. Поэтому постараемся дать представление […]

Читать статью

Крит — монастыри и святые места

Главная жемчужина острова – христианские святыни. Христианство на Крите проповедовали еще в I веке апостол Павел со своим учеником Титом, который впоследствии стал первым епископом острова. То есть история христианства на Крите насчитывает два тысячелетия. Здесь сохранилось множество исторических памятников, множество христианских святынь разных эпох. Святыни Крита, к сожалению, мало известны в России. Поэтому постараемся дать представление […]

Читать статью

Крит в мае — монастыри и святые места

Май на Крите очень солнечный! Практически все дни над островом сияет радостное майское солнышко. Погода в мае на Крите практически летняя, но без сильной жары, поэтому в это время особенно приятно совершать экскурсии по острову. Вода в море в начале месяца не располагает к длительному купанию. Зато майская природа острова изумительно красива, а цены на туры еще […]

Читать статью

Пасха на Крите

Если решите принять участие в гуляниях на Пасху, поближе познакомиться с местными традициями и отведать пасхальные блюда греческой кухни, прежде всего, следует точно знать, когда эту самую Пасху празднуют. Единственно «правило» — Светлая Пасха всегда выпадает на воскресный день. Главная причина такой уникальности — церковь, как католическая, так и православная, вычисляют дату празднования Пасхи при […]

Читать статью

Остров Крит и православное христианство

Со времен становления христианства в Европе остров Крит становится в центре православного развития. Множество религиозных памятников культуры сосредоточено на острове. Православные традиции и жизнь населения неразрывно связаны. История христианства на Крите насчитывает около двух тысячелетий. Христианство на острове Крит проповедовали еще в I веке апостол Павел со своим учеником Титом, который впоследствии стал первым епископом […]

Читать статью

С первых лет становления Христианства Крит стал колыбелью православия

Об этом свидетельствуют сотни религиозных памятников, разбросанных по всему острову. Даже освободительное движение во многих случаях начиналось в монастырях. Религиозная традиция очень сильна во всех районах острова, и повседневная жизнь критян неразрывно с ней связана. Территория Крита представляет собой собственную архиепископскую епархию, отдельную от остальной Греции. Крит — прекрасное место для паломничества и изучения истории, […]

Читать статью

Церковь Крита

Церковь Крита Апостолическая. Ядро христиан впервые сформировалось на Крите (примерно в 64 г. от рождества Христова) благодаря Святому Павлу, совершавшему 4-тое апостольское путешествие. Павел поручил своему ученику Титу, ставшему первым епископом Крита, неустанно проповедовать на острове христианство, которое столкнулось с сильнейшим сопротивлением живших на Крите этносов. Во время гонений императора Деция (249-251 гг.) десять христиан […]

Читать статью

Крит Православного Христианства круглый год!

Душа христианина всегда и везде ищет и Бога. На острове Крит Вас ждет встреча со святынями и святыми, православными традициями, с покровителями острова — Апостолами Павлом и Апостолом Титом. С ПЕРВЫХ ЛЕТ СТАНОВЛЕНИЯ ХРИСТИАНСТВА КРИТ СТАЛ КОЛЫБЕЛЬЮ ПРАВОСЛАВИЯ. Об этом свидетельствуют сотни религиозных памятников, разбросанных по всему острову.  Даже освободительное движение во многих случаях начиналось […]

Читать статью

Собор Святого Мины

Собор Святого Мины — один из главных соборов города Ираклиона Расположен на площади Венизелоса. Собор является одним из самых больших на территории Греции (вмещает до 8 тысяч человек). 11 ноября – день его поминовения. Это престольный праздник — официальный выходной. Справа от храма находится обитель Критского Архиепископа, а слева маленькая аутентичная церковь Святого Мины, которая была […]

Читать статью